सनातन धर्म भूमिका

Meaning of "nakshatra"







In General

Star; constellation; a symbol of good fortune

Moon completes a rotation around earth in 27 days(correct: 27.3). Indian astronomers observed this facts with respect to the constellations and divided zodiac into 27 equal parts based on Moon's stay for a day under every star bunch ( Nakshatra or constellation)

The twenty seven constellations are called Nakshatras. They are all the wives of Chandra with whom all of them roam around in the night sky. The 27 Nakshatras along with Planets and Sun is of great importance as they control the happenings in life of man. All of them were born to Daksha Prajapati in his wife Prasuti

Each one of us is born under one of the Nakshatra and which is his is the Birth star. All the Astrological calculation is made according to Nakshatras. Ancient Indians have not just identified these constellations but even predict their path and connect that with destiney of a human being.

The 27 Nakshatras are: 1. Ashvini 2. Bharani 3. Krittika 4. Rohini 5. Mrigashira 6. Ardra 7. Punarvasu 8. Pushya 9. Ashlesha 10. Magha 11. Purvaphalguni 12. Uttaraphalguni 13. Hasta 14. Chitra 15. Svati 16. Vishakha 17. Anuradha 18. Jyestha 19. Mula 20. Purva Ashada 21. Uttara Ashada 22. Shravana 23. Dhanishta 24. Shatabisha 25. Purva Bhadrapada 26. Uttara Bhadrapada 27. Revati

The concept of Nakshatras is used in Vedic Astrology for accurate predictions and astrological analysis. Janamanakshtra is the Nakshatra in which the Natal Moon is placed at the time of birth. Janamnakstra gives an insights to one's thinking patterns, characteristics of the person and calculating the dasha period


Rig Veda uses the word Nakshatra in many of its suktas. Nakshatra, the stars represent good wishes and expectations. Jyothisha is one of the Vendanga ; The earliest work on it is called Vedanga jyothisha

The zodiac according to Indian Astrology comprises of 360 degrees. There are 27 Nakshatras or constellations in it. Therefore, the value of each constellation is 13 degrees and 20 minutes when measured from the fixed initial point. Each Nakshtra is divided in padas or charan, every Nakshtra has 4 padas or charan. These 27 Nakshatras (constellations) complete the entire circle of 360 degrees of the zodiac.


Wives of Chadra: Candra took twentyseven daughters of Daksa as his wives. These twentyseven wives are the twenty seven constellations (Nakshatras). Candra circumambulates Mahameru along with his twenty seven wives.

Related entries found !

Word Sanskrit IAST In General Veda Purana
Rohini , nakshatraरोहिणीrohiṇīThe star constellation 4th in the list of 27 is called Rohini. It is an auspicious star suitable... Read More